Mohan Yadav sworn in as MP CM, PM Modi attends ceremony

Bhopal, (| Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangubhai Patel administered the chief ministerial oath to Mohan Yadav on Wednesday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Yadav is the 20th personage to adorn the high office. Jagdish Devda and Rajendra Shukla were sworn in as deputy chief ministers. The state capital’s Motilal Nehru Stadium was the venue for the grand event.  Among the dignitaries who graced the occasion were Union Home Affairs and Cooperation Minister Amit Shah, his ministerial colleagues, BJP President Jagat Prakash Nadda, other saffron camp stalwarts, several chief ministers and Yadav’s predecessor Shivraj Singh Chouhan.
The function was conducted by Chief Secretary Veera Rana. Monks, who were present on a stage proximous to the principal one, blew conches. Earlier, Modi, Shah and other BJP central leaders arrived on board a special plane. It was officially learnt that the Prime Minister was received by select politicians at the State Hangar. Modi subsequently boarded an IAF helicopter that conveyed him to Lal Parade Ground –Motilal Nehru Stadium adjoins the place.

The BJP retained power in the state by emerging victorious in 163 of the total 230 Assembly constituencies during the polls for formation of Madhya Pradesh’s 16th Vidhan Sabha. During a recent BJP Legislature Party meeting, Ujjain South MLA Yadav was chosen as the body’s leader. (uni)