Naveen Patnaik sanctions Rs.225.53 crore under MUKTA scheme

Bhubaneswar, (|Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik on Saturday approved
Rs. 225.53 crores under the state funded flagship Scheme MUKTA for the financial Year
2023-24 in favour of 36 Urban Local Bodies. All these 36 ULBs have developed ward-wise feasible Annual Action Plans under MUKTA through a participatory process involving local citizens and key Stakeholders.Official sources said all these projects are demand driven, technically feasible and environmentally sustainable projects.These Action Plans have been screened at the department level before approval of the CM. These approved projects will be executed directly by Mission Shakti Groups as Implementing Agency.This was the third and final phase of approval of the Mukta scheme in the state.

Earlier, the CM had approved the first and second phase covering 20 of the 30 districts. The third phase money would now cover the 36 urban local bodies in the rest 10 districts. The Basket of Projects approved under MUKTA are climate resilient work, which includes creation of Civic Amenities (Mini Park, Open Air Gym, Child play station, Playground, Walking track, Loo, Vending Zones), Open Space Development, Water Body Development, Construction of Multi-purpose Community Centers, Wall Painting, City beautification and other Labour-oriented works.

“Mukhya Mantri Karma Tatpara Abhiyan” (MUKTA) was launched by the Chief Minister in April 2020 with a mission to create rapid, immediate and mass employment opportunities for urban poor, informal and migrant labourers, rendered unemployed and vulnerable in the face of Covid-19 infused crisis.
MUKTA adopts a community driven, participatory and bottom-up approach ensuring transparency
and accountability during entire stage of project implementation.It is a community driven scheme tailor made for Community Based Organisations (CBO) such as Women Self Help Groups (SHG) and Slum Dwellers Associations (SDA) to take the center stage.The Chief Minister has so far sanctioned Rs. 833.21 crores in 3 phases covering all 115 ULBs of 30 districts of the State. (UNI)