Siddaramaiah new CM of K’taka

New Delhi ( | Ending all speculations, the Congress on Thursday announced the name of its stalwart Siddaramaiah as the new CM of Karnataka, and state’s party chief DK Shivakumar as Deputy CM.
The announcement of the party comes after several hours of deliberations by Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge with other top leaders including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi, and former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and state party chief DK Shivakumar.  Siddaramaiah won from the Varuna Assembly constituency, while Shivakumar from Kanakapura seat.

Addressing a press conference at the party headquarters, Congress general secretary in-charge Organisation KC Venugopal said, “The Congress president after holding several deliberations has decided that Siddaramaiah will be the CM of Karnataka and DK Shivakumar will be the only Deputy CM.”
He also informed that the swearing in ceremony will take place on May 20. Along with CM, Deputy CM, a group of ministers will also take oath, added Venugopal.

Crediting both the leaders from the Southern state for the party’s stupendous victory in the Assembly polls, the senior Congress leader, “Both are big assets of the Congress in Karnataka.” “Our is a democratic party. We believe in consensus and not dictatorship,” Venugopal said. He added, “I would like to thank the people of Karnataka. This election was poor vs rich.” In response to a question, the senior Congress leader said leaders of all the ‘like-minded’ parties will be invited in the swearing ceremony. Congress Karnataka in-charge Randeep Singh Surjewala while apprising the same said that the party is committed to give a transparent government in Karnataka and work for the welfare of the people of the state.

Meanwhile, Kharge in a tweet wrote, ” Team Congress is committed to usher progress, welfare and social justice for the people of Karnataka. ” The Congres chief said that the party will implement the five guarantees as promised to 6.5 cr Kannadigas during the Assembly polls. In the recently concluded Karnataka polls, the Congress won 135 Assembly seats out of 224 constituencies. (UNI)