After seamers show, KKR ambushes SRH by 8 wkts, wins 3rd IPL title

Chennai, (Thestates.news)  After a dominating show by the seamers, who bagged eight wickets between them, Kolkata Knight Riders (#KKR) batters, led by left hander Venkatesh Iyer’s blistering half century–the 4th fastest in final–humbled Sunrisers Hyderabad (#SRH) to win its third IPL title in an one-sided IPL final at the M.A.Chidambaram Stadium here on Sunday night. After skittling out SRH, which chose to bat first, to 113 in 18.3 overs, KKR batters overhauled the target with consummate ease and was crowned themselves glory for the third time winning
by eight wickets in a venue where it had won the maiden title in 2012.

This is first title win in last ten years for KKR, adding to its wins in 2012 and 2014 after losing the title clash in 2021. KKR Skipper Shreyas Iyer became the eighth captain to win the IPL crown.  SRH, the 2016 winner, lost for the second time in a summit clash after 2018.  After losing in form left hander Sunil Narine (6) in the second over, a rampaging Venkatesh Iyer  (52 not out 4×4, 3×6 in 26 balls) put the SRH bowling attack to sword carting them to all parts of the ground with a flurry of shots as he and opener Rahamullah Gurbaz (39, 32 balls 5×4, 2×6) added
91 for the second wicket in 45 balls, with the contest ending long before the scheduled close.
Venkatesh Iyer scored the fourth fastest half century in IPL final in 24 balls and remained unbeaten at the end when the team crossed the finishing line. This will go into the history one of the one-sided IPL finals contested so far.(UNI)