Jyotiraditya Scindia Digvijaya Singh and Sumer Solanki elected to RS from MP

Bhopal, ( Erstwhile central minister Jyotiraditya Scindia (BJP), former chief minister Digvijaya Singh (Congress) and Mr Sumer Singh Solanki (BJP) were on Friday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh while Mr Phool Singh Baraiya (Cong) could not make it to the portals of the Council of States.

Counting of votes concluded late evening. All 206 lawmakers participated in the electoral process – the break-up being BJP 107, Congress 92, Bahujan Samaj Party two, Samajwadi Party one and four independents.

This is Digvijaya Singh’s second successive tenure in the upper house while the other two victors are ‘freshers’ – in a manner of speaking – vis-à-vis the House of Elders though Mr Scindia commands considerable Lok Sabha experience. At this juncture, he is regaining health in the national capital. The other three contestants were present on the Assembly premises during voting and until announcement of the outcome. (uni)(