Supreme Court refuses to entertain PIL seeking direction on the inauguration of new Parl bldg by President of India

New Delhi (|Supreme Court in its order on Friday refused to entertain a PIL filed by a lawyer seeking a direction to the Central Government to invite President Droupadi Murmu to the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28.After the Supreme Court’s two-judge vacation bench, headed by Justice J K Maheshwari and P S Narasimha, refused to entertain the plea of the lawyer-cum-petitioner, C R Jaya Sukin and he then withdrew his plea from the Top Court.”We are not not inclined to entertain the PIL,” the bench of the Supreme Court said in its order.

The Apex Court, during the course of the hearing, on Friday sought Solicitor General Tushar Mehta’s view on the issue. He told the Apex Court that these matters are not justiciable. “The petitioner (C R Jaya Sukin) should be restrained from moving the HCs by withdrawing the PIL from SC,” Mehta told the Supreme Court, after which, the SC refused to entertain the PIL filed by Sukin.

The Public Interest Litigation was filed in the Supreme Court by Sukin yesterday seeking a direction that the New Parliament building should be inaugurated by the President of India, and not by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.The petitioner, a practising lawyer, C R Jaya Sukin, had filed the petition in the Indian Top Court and said the Lok Sabha Secretariat violated the Constitution by not inviting the President for the inauguration.

“The statement issued by the Lok Sabha Secretariat on May 18 and invites issued by Secretary general, Lok Sabha about inauguratIon of the new Parliament building is an arbitrary manner without proper perusal of the records and without proper application of mind,” the petitioner, Sukin, claimed in his plea, filed before the Supreme Court, said. The petitioner said the Respondents, Central government and Lok Sabha Secretariat, have violated the Indian Constitution and it is not being respected.

“The Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament comprises the President and the two Houses – Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha (House of the People). The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha,” the petition filed by Sukin before the Supreme Court said. (UNI)